Time management pays off in cookies!

Maddie isn’t usually very good at managing time, but today she surprised me. Planning how to use her time is one of those higher level thinking skills that generally eludes her. She thinks that it takes “a few minutes” to get anywhere in Toronto by transit. (That may also be a genetic trait because her dad and sister share the same view!) But she also thinks that if she has a work shift in the morning and a dance class in the evening that there is NO time for anything else in between. Today, she came home from her class at Frontier College and announced that she was going to make sugar cookies. She had two hours before her afternoon visit to the gym.

Making sugar cookies takes hours. First you have to make the dough. Then it has to chill for an hour. Then you have to roll it out, cut shapes, bake, cool and ice. I started to say, “Do you have enough time?” But when she reminded me that she works in a cookery, I stopped and retuLemon and Allspice logorned to work.

About an hour later, I was lured downstairs by delicious smells. But still, I was worried that she hadn’t let the dough chill, that the cookies would be mush….

cookies
“These are chocolate chip. I thought you were making sugar cookies,” I said, (with my mouth full).
“I changed my mind,” she said. “I didn’t have enough time to make sugar cookies.”

This entry was posted in Life skills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time management pays off in cookies!

  1. home care services says:

    Adults with Disabilities want to remain in their home and live normal lives, In home care gives them the chance to do just that. Often these adults only need a little help with day to day activities. Allowing them to live normal lives..

    • Valerie McDonald says:

      Thanks for replying to my blog. I wasn’t sure if you had finished your last thought?

Leave a comment